Presidents Cup capsules - United States team

29 September 2013 01:16

Player capsules for the United States team that will compete in the 10th Presidents Cup at Muirfield Village:

United States (captain Fred Couples)

Keegan Bradley - Won the 2011 PGA Championship, also has career US tour wins at Byron Nelson Championship and WGC Bridgestone Invitational, events where he was second this year. Makes his Presidents Cup debut after a strong Ryder Cup effort last year.

Jason Dufner - Won the PGA Championship in August at Oak Hilll for his first major title and first wins since May of last year. Appeared to have the 2011 PGA crown won but stumbled late and lost a playoff to Bradley. Makes his Presidents Cup debut.

Bill Haas - Won the 2011 Tour Championship for the season playoff crown and was made a captain's pick for the US Presidents Cup team, going 1-3-1. Won his fifth career US PGA title by capturing the National last June and had a career-best nine top-10 finishes.

Zach Johnson - The 2007 Masters champion made a putt on the final hole at the Deutsche Bank championship to grab the last automatic spot on the team, then won the next playoff event, the BMW Championship. Played on US Cup winners in 2007, 2009, was second at 2006 Memorial, the US PGA event played at Muirfield Village.

Matt Kuchar - Reigning Memorial champion after win last June at Muirfield Village, where he was in the top 10 in his five prior starts. Made Presidents Cup debut in 2011, going 1-3-1. also won WGC Match-Play crown this year.

Hunter Mahan - Makes fourth Presidents Cup start, going 8-5-1 in past three events for triumphant US side, and has a 15-2 match-play record dating to the 2011 Cup, including a 2012 WGC Match-Play victory.

Phil Mickelson - Won the British Open in July for his fifth career major title just a month after his sixth runner-up finish at the US Open. Will be the only player to have played in this and every prior Presidents Cup. Also played on past nine US Ryder Cup squads.

Webb Simpson - The 2012 US Open winner was made a captain's choice after being knocked from the automatic qualifier ranks by Zach Johnson's final putt at Deutsche Bank Championship. went 3-2 in 2011 Presidents Cup debut.

Brandt Snedeker - Won 2012 PGA Tour playoff crown by capturing last year's Tour championship. Makes Presidents Cup debut. Nine top-10 finishes this year but has never made the cut at the Memorial.

Jordan Spieth - The 20-year-old captain's choice played tour events on sponsor exemptions trying to make enough money to qualify for next year's tour, then became the youngest winner of a US PGA Tour event since Ralph Guldahl at the 1931 Santa Monica Open by winning July's John Deere Classic at 19 years, 11 months, 18 days.

Steve Stricker - Played a limited schedule but eight top-10 finishes included three in the PGA playoffs. Will make fifth Presidents Cup appearance with 11-8 career record. Won the 2011 Memorial title.

Tiger Woods - The 14-time major champion was voted PGA Player of the Year for the 11th time in 16 seasons after a year where he won at Torrey Pines, Bay Hill, Doral, Firestone and the Players Championship. Has won the Memorial five times, most recently in 2012. Woods makes eighth Presidents Cup start, has 20-14-1 mark.

Source: AFP